Brief History of the Department

The Department of Psychology at Jimma University was founded in 2002 under the Faculty of Education. Later, in February 2006 it was reorganised under the Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences incorporating disciplines such as Sociology and Civics and Ethical Education. Today, the Department is part of the College of Social Sciences and Law. About 812 regular and about 50 evening students have graduated with a B.A. Degree in Psychology from our Department so far. Currently, around 268 undergraduate level and 13 MA students are attending programmes in the Department.

Future Plan of the Department >>

Department Structure
The Department is one of the most pioneering to be found under the College. There are five course teams and one Master’s programme. These include:

I. Undergraduate:

Counseling Psychology Course Team

  • Team leader: Jibril Jemal

Developmental Psychology Course Team

  • Team Leader: Aregash Hassen

Social Psychology Course Team

Special Needs Education Course Team

  • Team leader: Ayelech Wari

Measurement and Evaluation Course Team

  • Team leader: Berhanu Nigussie

II.    Masters programme:

  • MA in counseling Psychology