Background of the college

The College of Social Sciences and Law (CSSL) is one of the seven colleges of Jimma University. Located on the main campus, the College brings together ten disciplines, each with a strong foundation in Community Based Education (CBE), and it delivers quality courses at both undergraduate and postgraduate levels.

The College was restructured in 2009 through the merger of the Faculty of Law (established in 2002), the Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences (established in 2006), and some departments from the former Faculty of Education (established in 2001). Over the last ten years, the College has graduated thousands of professionals across various programmes.