About the Department

Under the former Institute of Health Science, geography was part of what was called the ‘Basic Science Unit’. At that time, the Department was represented by just one instructor, who used to offer the course ‘Introduction to Ethiopian Geography’ as a common course to most departments operating under the Institute. When the Institute was upgraded to university-level in 2000, geography merged with history to form the Department of Social Science, and it stayed this way for three years. The Department separated from history and began to act as a full-fledged department in 2004, starting its training through its regular programme by offering courses to English Department students minoring in Geography and Environmental Studies.

In addition, the Department admitted about 50 students in the same academic year to train at diploma level through its evening programme. It also admitted about 130 FPC and 150 PPC students in its regular programme to train in geography at Bachelor degree level. The Department has graduated more than 1500 students in regular, evening and summer in-service undergraduate programmes since 2006, with minors in either history or economics.

A Bachelor of Education in Geography and Environmental Studies has been offered since 2006. As of 2011, the Department is offering Bachelor of Arts degrees in Geography and Environmental Studies.