College Structure

According to the current Business Process Re-engineering (BPR) program which has already been implemented at the University level, the programmes/coordinating offices of the College include seven departments: the Administrative Team, coordinators for Research and Postgraduate, CBE (Community Based Education), Continuing and Distance Education, Academic Remedial Office for Students Affairs (OSA), College ICT, Gender Office,  plus the College branch library.

College AC Members and their Duties
The college’s Academic Commission (AC) is the highest decision making body of the college and chaired by the College Dean. It is composed of seven department heads, the heads of six coordinating offices, the college administrator, the gender focal person, two student representatives (one male and female), and a secretary. The current office holders and their responsibilities are as summarized below:

.No

Name 

Responsibility

Contact Address

Telephone

1

Ketema Bacha (PhD)

Dean

dean.cns@ju.edu.et

0471120739

2

Genanew Gofe (PhD)

Vice Dean

Genanew.gofe@ju.edu.et

0472115314-

3

Tokuma Negisho

Head, Department of Biology

head.biology@ju.edu.et

0471110121

4

Gima Selale

Head, Department of Chemistry

head.chemistry@ju.edu.et

0471111252

5

Yesuf Obse (PhD)

Head, Department of Mathematics

head.mathematics@ju.edu.et

0471118673

6

Getnet Melese

Head, Department of Physics

head.physics@ju.edu.et

0471118809

7

Hirko Taye

Head, Department of Sport Science

head.sportss@ju.edu.et

0471118688

8

Samuel Sisay           

Head, Dept of Information Science

is.head@ju.edu.et

0471122439

9

Abdisa Gurmessa

Head, Department of Statistics

head.statistics@ju.edu.et

0471122509

10

Gemechis File (PhD)

Research & PG  Coordinator

kassahunml@yahoo.com

0471118670

11

Balcha Abera (PhD)

CBE and Partnership Coordinator

balcha_abera@yahoo.com

0917023409

12

Gezahegn Faye

Head, Office for Student Affairs

gez.wak1@yahoo.com

0471120524

13

Alemayehu  Geremew(PhD)          

ICT and e-learning  Coordinator

alemayehu.geremew@ju.edu.et

0917804314

14

Abera Gure (PhD)

CDE  Coordinator

Abera.gure@ju.edu.et

0471120559

15

Tadesse Habtamu

Academic Remedial Coordinator

habtamu_tadesse@yahoo.com

0471120286

16

Mrs Etagegn Shacho

Gender Focal person

Etagegn.shacho@ju.edu.et

0923019497

17

Belachew Admasu

Administrative Team Leader

Ruth_5134@yahoo.com

0471120507

18

Adisalem Asefa

Head, Science Library

adisalemasefa@yahoo.com

0471118368

19

Student  Yemataye 

Student Representative  

 

0919133862

20

Yinebeb Tariku

Secretary

Yinebeb_tariku@yahoo.com

0913267244


Duties and Responsibility of Academic Commission 
The Academic Commission is accountable to the dean of the college and has the following powers and duties:
•    Approves curricula for various levels of training in the college;
•    Makes suggestions in relation to changes in teaching methods;
•    Lays down the modalities of assessment/examinations
•    Decides on the standard of students to be accepted from other    universities or Institutes;
•    Recommends to the Senate the grant to successful students of degrees, diplomas or  certificates and the class they have been awarded in the examination;
•    Makes a necessary review of the college research and extension activities
•    Approves promotions of professorship and recommend to the senate
•    Settles any academic problems which concern the college; 
•    Gives opinion or decides (as the case may be) on any matters that the Chairman may submit for its consideration.